The Black Line

 

So this weekend I attended a baby shower for my dearest, oldest friend (not old in the literal sense), but old as in we go way, way back! We joked about how long we have known each other, which stems back to Tot Lot, a place for kids almost ready for kindergarten. Yea, we go way back. She was always the quiet, good kid, and I was the not so quiet, I-can’t-help-that-I-have-a-loud-voice kid. She used to get me in trouble all the time, by whispering to me in her near silent voice“…want to come over today?”  Whereas, my whisper back “ WHAT DID YOU SAY?” would send me packing for the black line. For those of you that don’t know what a black line is…it was the line in the Kindergarten classroom separating the carpet from the tile floor. But, to me, it was the BLACK LINE of shame for those who committed the eternal sin of LOUD WHISPERS. Our friendship was always a strong one, after awhile the black line became my friend, as well as the family joke!

My grandparents would come to visit and they would ask, “Did you have to sit on the black line today?” and I would reply, “yes, but today it was a big black snake taking me for a ride through the desert.” AHHH if only the black line could come rescue me from my job during the course of the day! How I miss you, my friend!

2 Comments

Filed under Friends

2 responses to “The Black Line

  1. Andy

    That’s a fairly nasty looking black line…you really sat on that??

  2. goodbadandugly2

    Well, this one that had an “accident” on it….gosh darn pull ups!

Leave a Reply

