Irrational Fears and the Ice Cream Man

So there is an ice cream truck that drives through our neighborhood on a daily basis. I don’t know why I cringe in fear every time I hear his creepy music go past our house; he basically frightens me.  I think my fear stems from a movie I saw when I was a kid. I don’t know much more, my recollections are the ice cream man would drive through the neighborhoods and get kids to follow him with his tasty treats. He would then open the back of his truck shove them in and they would fall through an icy tunnel into another land. I supposed kind of like Narnia—-but not as pretty. And would never be seen from or heard of again.

Even the ice cream van is scary! It is an old, beat up white van…no posters, no decorations with kiddie music (but more like a bad record player) playing in high pitches, so that it makes Patches go crazy every time he goes past (see even she knows he is evil).

Now hubby LOVES the ice cream man, whenever he hears the music he starts getting all excited and I have to hold him back and remind him of my irrational fear. But, usually to no avail. Someday he will believe me, but then again it might be too late. Someday when he doesn’t come back, I will know the ice cream man got him!

5 Comments

Filed under Life

5 responses to “Irrational Fears and the Ice Cream Man

  1. lol your irrational fear – ice cream man
    my irrational fear – circus clown, any clown! i never like their painty smell and terribly big shoes. Their eyes are really scary, red and bloodshot and anytime popping out of their sockets etc…. like the IT movie, the clown got sharp razor teeth! But i guessed i got that fear since i was young, a clown scared me until i cried. i never forget that shock.

    my girlfriend would tease me whenever we walked pass a clown….. then i would look at her… “is she one of them?”

  2. The ice cream man freaks me out too!! The one in my neighborhood was really mean and no one could tell if it was actually a man or a woman. Now whenever I hear the creepy ice cream music I remember the person we all used to call “the shim” when we were little…

  3. goodbadandugly2

    you guys might be on to something….maybe part of the application process for being an ice cream person is to have a freaky personality and be scary!

  4. Jenny

    This is definately my biggest fear. They drive so slow…and that music. I wonder, is there is a technical name for this phobia?

  5. Pingback: Peep Show: A Tell All « The Good the Bad and the Ugly

Leave a Reply

