Fall in the Desert

The other day I was at Starbucks and was mesmerized by all the pictures and drawings of pumpkins and spices on the menu. That is when I knew…..it must be Fall in Arizona! In Connecticut, it was very apparent when Fall hit. The smells in the air of fireplaces, the brisk cold air, the leaves would start changing color and then fall to the ground (mind you I never raked those fallen leaves—that’s the thing the hubby misses most, while I just watched), and my most favorite part Harvest Festivals and Apple picking. I loved doing those things! Can you tell how much I am going to miss Fall?

In the desert, I think people know it is fall by going to Target and seeing all the “Fall”ish items everywhere. Pumpkins start appearing on people’s doorsteps, and of course the Starbucks brings out its Pumpkin Spice Latte. The weather has been getting cooler also. We can finally turn off the air and bring in some of that cool brisk air into the house (along with some dirt blown in from the backyard, and sometimes fresh wafting smells of the nearby cows—but hey what can you do?). In the meantime, I will continue to buy those plugins that smell like pumpkin spice so that I can get my “Fall smell” quota met. That way I will be able to lie down and take naps by the plugin while dreams of fireplaces, picking apples and changing leaves dance through my head.

It might be time for a vacation when you rely on a plugin that much, right?

2 Comments

Filed under Fall

2 responses to “Fall in the Desert

  1. I KNEW you’d miss Connecticut a little bit!

Leave a Reply

