The Takers…

nemo-seagulls1-2

More dinner conversations with family at dinner time over an open flame on a fire table (yea the fire was mesmerizing):

Mike (Alan’s weird brother): You guys are takers (referring to my sisters and me as I am stealing food from Hubby’s plate)

Hubby: All Mannix girls are takers!

Alan: laughing whore-like (Rae’s interpretation)

Sar: We are NOT! (glaring the death stare at Alan)

Me (matter of factly): Yea, I never denied it.

Hubby: Well, sometimes they are givers.

Mike (all knowing): OH I see!

I run inside to try and write part of this conversation on my hand so I can remember to blog about it (several Maker’s Mark ciders later)

Me (to Sar and Rae): Do either of you have a pen?

Both of them: What for?

Me: So I can write it on my hand for my blog.

Sar: Is it about me?!!!!!!

Me: OMG, everything does not revolve around you.

Sar: YES IT DOES!

Then we all (again several Maker’s Ciders later) decide to sit down for a game of Scene It.

Me: Ok, everyone we are going to play Scene it.

My mom: What? We are going to play Phoenix?

Me: No! Scene IT!

My Mom: What Semen?

And that is another episode of Fun times with all the Fam! Good times!

5 Comments

Filed under family

5 responses to “The Takers…

  1. Hahaha, family nights at your place must be hilarious as a rule. How do you ever manage to stop laughing long enough to participate in them?!

  2. wideawakeinwonderland

    **sigh** I’ve always wanted to be part of a big family. Alas, it was just me and my brother and our parents who broke up soon thereafter and basically functioned as arch enemies (like to the level rarely seen outside of comic books) for as long as I can remember. And then I haven’t exactly brought home the gold medal on creating my own huge family…so I’ll just have to live vicariously through those who have one, like you! I’m sure it has its down side if you’re part of it, but it sure sounds fun!

  3. Ah, that sounds like conversations I have with my family. There’s only four of us, so how we manage to get into those situations I’ll never know. Thanks for the midday laugh 🙂

  4. Ah, good times … good times. 🙂

  5. 1 of trifecta

    i resent that

Leave a Reply

