My Dog, the ConeHead

This past week, Patches has been licking and licking and licking and licking and licking and licking and licking (well, I think you get the point) her back leg until it was raw. Seeing this, Hubby and I decided we would try our hands at being veternarians (this is not reccommended, but it seemed to work, at first), since our income, lately has been on the downward spiral. We decided we would saran wrap this rogue leg, so she couldn’t lick it.
However, about six or seven days later, she was still licking and the saran wrap was just not cutting it.

So, today,  Hubby took her to the vet (after much begging and pleading to take our “dying puppy” to the vet so her leg would not fall off and she wouldn’t die..insert my sad puppy eyes here)!

They think it is some kind of bacterial infection, since it is nowhere else on her body, but this one spot. So, they gave her some antiseptic spray and shaved her back leg and said we have to watch her and make sure she doesn’t lick it!

sad-pooh-0463

And then…..they said she had to wear the conehead, to make sure she didn’t lick….I really tried not to laugh when I saw this…I know, I am such a bad mother….as I pointed and rolled on the floor!

sad-pooh-045

But, as she banged into the walls to come and greet me when I got home, I just fell to the floor laughing because everywhere she went she banged into EVERYTHING. Poor, Poor Patches. She is the saddest dog ever and after what we paid at the vet, Hubby is forcing her to wear it per the vet’s reccomendation of ten days!

Poor, Sad Patches!

sad-pooh-0441

14 Comments

Filed under humor, Pets

14 responses to “My Dog, the ConeHead

  1. poor pup! 😦

    I hope she gets better!

  2. warriorwitch

    She’s beautiful – and fashionable.

  3. Ya, we had to do that to Sara after she got in a fight with Jane and kept picking the scab of doom over a third of her head…

    She yowled all night long, for a week. I know, scabs are itchy, but srsly… it was for her own good. She would come up to me, sit down, and give me those kitten eyes, you know the ones. She’d stare at me. Nudge my arm so I would scratch her face. I felt her pain.

  4. Patches thanks you all for the words of encouragement since those sad, puppy eyes got her a little bit of hamburger meat in her dog food tonight! Not spoiled at all, right?

  5. bookishpenguin

    We always laughed at our dogs when they had to wear the cone collar. It’s far too hysterical to watch your dog walking into walls. Our dog once had a soft fabric one that made him look like a flower so we called him Petunia for a week. :o)

  6. I think you bailed early on “licking and licking”, you could have gone on for at least a paragraph or more, that would have showed more commitment to the gag, and I, for one would have really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, appreciated it, because dogs lick themselves a lot!

  7. Poor Patches! I hope she makes a full and speedy recovery.

  8. Oh, poor baby!! Give her a good scratch for me.

  9. Jennie

    Awww… bless her little dog heart. It’s so sad yet so freaking funny!

  10. She is a beautiful dog 🙂

  11. puregreenjade

    Patches is adorable! I hope her itchy little patch is healing well!

  12. Pingback: To obey or not? THAT is the question… « The Good the Bad and the Ugly

  13. Lori

    Patches does not looked pleased! Poor Patches 😦

Leave a Reply

