Job Freak Outs…

jobs

So, as the economy and layoffs are getting worse and worse, I keep holding on to the fact that I can bypass this, somehow. However, now we are finding out that the place where I work will be experiencing a mandatory two week break without pay for everyone that works here. Now, I am starting to freak out. I know I am fortunate in the fact that I will still have a job, but it is just hard to keep perspective right now. I like to think I am usually a glass half full type of person….but in the meantime, the voices in my head (yea, I can’t help it) are making me freak out even more.

So, guess we shall see what happens. I think I just can’t believe that the last three years we barely survived grad school and now we are back to being in the grad school mentality. Guess it is time to start re-evaluating needs versus wants. Ugh. I hate being pessimistic. I just want to hide under my covers and not come out til everything is better. I think that might be my next plan…..well, guess I can do that on my mandatory days off now…..

7 Comments

Filed under Life

7 responses to “Job Freak Outs…

  1. ANONYMOUS

    hang in there!

  2. Great blog. I just found you. Actually I think technically you found me since you commented on my blog. But I came here and you’re so dry and funny. Love your blog! 🙂

  3. kristal84

    Thanks for the comment on my blog!
    I hope you get some rest while on your break and take advantage of being off. Hope everything works out for you!

  4. Urgh, I know exactly where you’re coming from. Well, kinda, cause I don’t have to pay for rent or groceries… But my place of work are cutting back hours for everyone and it’s so annoying!
    At least you can spend two weeks planning [and sleeping a lot more] on what and how to make sure you don’t get into financial difficulties!

  5. It’s very scary. But remember nothing stays the same, good or bad. It will change. I’m hoping for better.

  6. Hello.
    Dog Girl here.
    Yep, the economy sucks big time.
    They’re talking about layoffs here in the NYC public schools for next year…
    I have 20 years’ seniority, but it’s depressing to see this happening.

    I am confident the economy will eventually correct itself. I think our economy just got too fat and crazy in the past few years. Too much greed & not enough saving.

Leave a Reply

