Some Serious News

kitty-mer-0162

Well, things haven’t been getting much better since yesterday.

Americus, our alarm clock cat, is sick. It was weird because one minute she was fine, and the next she wasn’t eating or drinking and having bathroom problems, as well as extensive vomiting. I spent most of the night looking after her. Was pretty freaked out. Still am.

She is only 9, and we took her to the vet this morning. Of course, this isn’t any easier because Hubby isn’t here.

The vet has put her on some meds, but was alarmed by a high ALT level. This means she has enzymes leaking from her liver into her blood, which, from what I understand, could lead to liver failure. They gave her a hydration treatement and are hoping the medications will help before they determine any next steps.

I guess what is surprising to me, is that she wasn’t sick one day ago. She was acting normal…wake up calls and all.

I am hoping everything will be ok.

10 Comments

Filed under fears, Pets

10 responses to “Some Serious News

  1. Sorry to hear about your cat. We will be hopin the best for Americus.. sounds like a great cat as well as loyal friend ..Zman sends

  2. Oh noes. 😦 Hope kitty feels better. *Hug*

  3. Andy

    Hope your little kitty pulls through. 🙂

  4. Lori

    I hope your kitty gets well soon! Hang in there–sending big hugs for you and Americus from Florida!!!

  5. Sending you and your kitty good vibes. Hope she recovers quickly!

  6. Boo! That sucks. I’m thinking about you and trying to send you and your kitty some healing powers from australia.

  7. Poor Americus 😦 I hope she feels much better. Nine isn’t very old for a cat, like you say, and hopefully the meds will help!

  8. With a name like Americus she may be sick now, but she will recover. She has to, if for no other reason . . . for you.

  9. really cute picture dude! She’s a trooper…keep me in the loop today

  10. Terra

    I am so sorry to hear about your baby…I will keep you both in in my thoughts and prayers. I’m here for you!

Leave a Reply

