Traffic Madness Syndrome (TMS)

sign1

So, this morning I had to get up to drive to a different office. I dread going to this office because it is FAR. But, I had Britney going and I thought it wouldn’t be so bad, I even left the house 10 minutes earlier than I needed to. There I am driving along, and singing to Britney when I encounter it. 

THE.WORST.TRAFFIC.EVER.

And no, I am not exaggerating. I tried pinching myself, hoping I was in some kind of disasterous-traffic-induced nightmare. But, I was definately awake. The on-ramp to the highway I usually get on is closed. Thus explaining the huge disaster on the off ramp and side streets. I am stuck. There is no where else to go, except sit in the maddening traffic. Everyone is pissed, driving terribly, and honking on their horns. It was horrible. And that is when I started sweating.

There was no way to avoid it. I was getting TMS (traffic madness syndrome). Before I knew it, I had all the symptoms:

*shouting expletives

*full force anger

*tired, achey muscles from stamping on the breaks

*crabbiness

*lack ot control

*middle finger uncontrollableness

So, instead of taking me maybe 45 minutes to an hour to get here…it took me one hour and 25 minutes exactly!   At least it is Friday! I am scared to think how long it will take me to get home tonight. I have a feeling it is going to be a LOOOOONNNNNGGGGG day.

Stupid Traffic.

I definately have a case of full on TMS. I wonder if they make something for this? You know, some pill or something?  If so, I NEED it. Actually, I know just the thing that will help get me through the day…..

Lunch at Jersey Mike’s! I am starting to feel better already!

13 Comments

Filed under Commuting

13 responses to “Traffic Madness Syndrome (TMS)

  1. Pingback: Car, Motor, Tuning, Tuned, Bike, Free Wallpapers » Blog Archive » Traffic Madness Syndrome (TMS)

  2. I know it is Friday huh?

  3. I once spent an hour and a half at a spot where it would have taken me 15 minutes to walk home from… I was tempted to leave my car in the middle of Barracks Road.

    I hate C-ville during FoxField.

    In other news… pff. Weeny! I live that horrible traffic enduced nightmare every day. Thank GOD for DC traffic! Weeeee!

    😛

  4. Terra

    I’m back 🙂 I’ve missed you!

  5. I really hate traffic. REALLY. HATE. IT. So I feel your pain.

    BTW, “TMS” is typically known as “road rage”. 😉

  6. The Last Post

    Don’t you just hate it as well when cyclists ride between the cars stuck in traffic and knock your wing mirrors.

    Sounds like you had a stressful journey, hope it is better on Monday.

  7. Yeah i agree hope monday is better..is their something you can take for TMS I have some percocet and vicodin so here

    *Zman hands 2 percocet and 1 vicodin*

    Take with food or milk…every 4 hours for traffic stress as needed…..zman

  8. Uh yeah, they make a pill for this, just like the pill they make for PMS, ha!

  9. delaney55

    I used to have that problem when I lived in California, not much problem out here in the Boonies thank goodness! I feel your pain though.

  10. Annoying traffic – we’re on the same wavelength. I used to commute about 15 miles to the Pentagon in DC everyday and it was the most horrible traffic of my life. I lived in that God-forsaken crazy can’t read English-Egyptian nutcase, new Asian lady driver, city for almost 25 years and I’m so glad that a traffic jam here in Ohio consists of about 30 cars.

  11. TMS! Brilliant. 🙂
    You have just coined a fabulous and hilarious acronym. And all thanks to the stupid traffic. It’s true what they say. Comedy comes from pain.

    PS: And here I was thinking that TMS was Transcranial magnetic stimulation… You know, a noninvasive method to excite neurons in the brain.
    😉

  12. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Alanna

    http://www.craigslisthelper.info

Leave a comment