Sham-HUH?

shamwow

Today’s version of America’s Next Top Blogger is brought to you by Lori at I Can Grow People . I have known Lori while our Hubbys’ attended grad school and now we have reconnected through our blogs! What a small world!

Her topic/question pertained to the Sham-Wow guy. My thoughts on him and what is his deal?

First off, I must say, you stumped me a bit with this one….Sham…what? I know, where have I been, right? But, I must admit, Lori, I don’t get out much, Hubby keeps me locked in the closet and somehow I must have missed this late night infomercial. So, I googled it (oh, the wonders of google). Yup, there he was staring at me.

ARE.YOU.SERIOUS? Then I realized; I have met him, no not the one in the infomercials, but his evil SHAM-WOW twin brother. Yea, ok, he had different color hair and not the same smile, but the clothes, mic and hairstyle WERE the same and his SHAM was the same! So, here’s the dirt:

A couple weekends, right before Christmas time, Hubby and I were shopping around in the mall and found ourselves at Sears. We were trying to find that one, perfect, last minute gift when lo and behold:

“ATTENTION Customers…if you will come down to the first floor right away and join us for this special in-store  demonstration we will give you a free promotional item just for coming down here.”

FREE? FREE? I looked at Hubby….yes, I LOVE free things. I know, I am so naive. So, Hubby and I trample down to the first floor and lo and behold some amazing product that will change our lives forever.

*Do you hate to clean?  (YES!)

*Do you need a product that can make cleaning a breeze? (YES!)

*Do you want to get the hair tumbleweeds off your floor for good? (YES, please!)

Then give me 10 minutes of your time and I will give you one for free!

WOW, really? So, we waited, we participated, we stood, and we watched in amazement. And in the end, all we got was this lousy piece of cloth the size of a tissue that is like a chamois, but not…..but for 3 installments of $19.95….you too can have this life changing floor device.

Yea, SURE.

LAST TIME I fall for that one SCAMMER SHAM people! I hate you. And your evil twin brother!

5 Comments

Filed under America's Next Top Blogger, blogging, Challenges

5 responses to “Sham-HUH?

  1. Terra

    Just looking at that guy makes me think, “Freak Show”…so annoying!

  2. Lori

    Well Done!!! You truly can blog about anything–that is a real gift. I just blog about being fat and pregnant. That seems to be all I can manage!

    I admit–the guy creeps me out a little. It might be the headset mic. It might be the high pressure sales tactics. I’m not sure. But I recently read somewhere that the ShamWow guy was sorta booted out of the Church of Scientology…

    Buy ShamWows! Now!

  3. Ah, the informercial army of scammers! Shills, one and all, for a product you never knew existed, but desperately need.

  4. billy may is the anti-christ…

  5. Chris

    Have you seen the mugshot compared to him in tv

Leave a comment